Author Topic: HTC netcoding - slipping  (Read 3995 times)

Offline Vulcan

• Plutonium Member
Re: HTC netcoding - slipping
« Reply #60 on: October 23, 2008, 08:14:54 PM »
Beware the generic HTC explanation for everything. I have a email box full of em :confused:

Are you a networking professional? No? The generic responses are there because the generic people ask the same question over and over (the same people who demand US ISPs don't shape traffic ironically).

I am a networking professional and it may be a generic response from HTC but it is an accurate response.

Offline Shane

• Platinum Member
« Reply #61 on: October 23, 2008, 08:51:26 PM »
i've always been happy with how HTC handles their end (the internet is a different issue.) this is why it was so surprising to me as I had never seen such a large discrepancy before.
Surrounded by suck and underwhelmed with mediocrity.
I'm always right, it just takes some poepl longer to come to that realization than others.
I'm not perfect, but I am closer to it than you are.
"...vox populi, vox dei..."  ~Alcuin ca. 798

Offline FLOTSOM

• Persona Non Grata
  • Gold Member
      • http://www.myspace.com/prfctstrngr
« Reply #62 on: October 23, 2008, 09:26:38 PM »
i've always been happy with how HTC handles their end (the internet is a different issue.) this is why it was so surprising to me as I had never seen such a large discrepancy before.

well now I'm gonna throw in my 2cents (about 1.23333333cents after current taxes, after obama taxes it would be 0.23333333cents)

if we know and understand that there is lag;

is there a way for the aces high servers to measure the individual latency of each player as they enter an arena?

can the servers impose a preset base line latency that would be adjusted to be just a little slower than the average high latency of all players in a particular arena?