Author Topic: x52 tension  (Read 2186 times)

Offline _vic_

• Copper Member
      • imagitronics.org
x52 tension
« on: April 19, 2009, 04:52:13 AM »
Hey all,

I've found that since I started flying with a Saitek X52 stick that I'm a bit ham-fisted. I think this is partially due to the fact that when I started playing the game I used a Logitech 3D Extreme that had a lot of "tension" in the stick.

The other night I stumbled across this forum thread (http://forums.frugalsworld.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=120251) that has a link to a youtube video and some other commentary on increasing the tension in the X52 stick.

I used the method in the youtube videos (but instead of using a bore drillbit I just used an exacto knife) to create a makeshift washer out of the plastic cover from a CD spindle.

I know that most experienced users of an X52 are probably already familiar with this simple mod, but I thought it may come in handy for other X52 users, since I hadn't seen it mentioned anywhere on these boards. Anyone that's coming to the X52 from X45, Thrustmaster, or Logitech sticks should be able to appreciate this simple 10 minute mod.

NOTE: Compressing the spring with a washer may shorten the life of your spring... Make sure you know the risks involved beforehand.

<S>
Tim

Offline 100Coogn

• Gold Member
Re: x52 tension
« Reply #1 on: April 19, 2009, 03:12:58 PM »
That would prob. increase the spring tension.  I just decrease the range of the outer deadzones for x/y axis, found within the Saitek Control Panel.  That way I don't have to move the stick all the way forward/back or left/right.  The way I have it now, when I pull the stick about halfway back, it is actually giving a full pull-back signal.

Coogan
From Wiley: If you're hitting them after they drop, that's not defense, that is revenge.
Game Id's:
AHIII: Coogan
RDR2: Coogan_Bear
MSFS-2020: Coogan Bear

Offline _vic_

• Copper Member
      • imagitronics.org
« Reply #2 on: April 19, 2009, 07:52:24 PM »
Coogn,