Author Topic: Coral Sea Information Thread  (Read 3516 times)

Offline oneway

• Silver Member
Coral Sea Information Thread
« on: May 17, 2009, 02:20:13 PM »
Fairly decent overview of the Coral Sea Battle including the number of planes launched and recovered from both sides....

When I heard it might be Coral Sea I started studying about the battle...these are good starting points for anyone who is interested in learning more...

One of the most notable facts surrounding the battle of Coral Sea was it was the first time that the entire naval battle was conducted out of visual range of one another. Coral Sea marked the end of the surface to surface ship engagements that dominated naval warfare for centuries and was the true dawn of the Carrier based naval task force.

As a result, Coral Sea was one of the most disorganized naval efforts in the history of modern conflict. Both sides maintained radio silence between task groups resulting in chaotic movement of forces and a less than decisive outcome. This set the stage for Midway which occurred 1 month later.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Battle_of_the_Coral_Sea

http://www.users.bigpond.com/pacificwar/Battle_Coral_Sea.html

http://www.awm.gov.au/encyclopedia/coral_sea/doc.asp

===========

« Last Edit: May 17, 2009, 02:35:10 PM by oneway »

Offline oneway

• Silver Member
Re: Coral Sea Information Thread
« Reply #1 on: May 17, 2009, 02:26:43 PM »
United States 5th Air Force Group activity log for May 1942

Saturday, 2 May, 1942
8th Photographic Squadron, 5th Air Force (attached to Allied Air Forces), transfers from Brisbane to Townsville, Australia with F-4's; first mission was 16 April.

Monday, 4 May, 1942