Author Topic: P-38 fever  (Read 1725 times)

Offline Qrsu

• Nickel Member
Re: P-38 fever
« Reply #15 on: May 27, 2009, 11:20:15 PM »
Thanks for the film Ak-Ak. Great flying.
Cursed
80th FS "Headhunters"

Offline TAZ

• Zinc Member
« Reply #16 on: May 29, 2009, 01:48:11 PM »
I'm starting to take a liking the 38 more and more as I fly it. Though I'm not accomplished as a pilot I find I can maneuver on the deck and turn with almost anything. Up high I need work but the other night I gave a couple of F4's the fits and was able to hold them off while pinging them up a little. Still I have not found my plane yet. So I've been whoring myself to a lot of rides myself. LOL

Offline MjTalon

• Gold Member
      • 82nd FG Home
« Reply #17 on: May 29, 2009, 01:56:14 PM »
I love the P-38 now. It's just so versatile and surprising. I've transitioned from the P-38 series from my Fw190A5 & P47 and it's just wonderful. The nose mounted guns offer a lethal arsenal for any fighter that makes the mistake of sitting in front of you for more than a second.

It's maneuverability is stellar. I can honestly say that the 38 is the only big twin engine fighter that can pull off alot of the "unbelievable" moves that you see being executed by the 80th and the rest of the vet 38 sticks. Only thing you have to learn is that you're going to down..alot while you learn it. But once you start to understand it more and utilize it's traits she'll start to reward you greatly which is what I'm coming to find out.

S.A.P.P.
Cavalier - 82nd F.G
Group Commanding Officer

Offline uptown

• Plutonium Member
« Reply #18 on: May 31, 2009, 08:16:04 AM »
I'm glad to see more people are taking an interest in the P38. :salute
Lighten up Francis

Offline Jebus

• Nickel Member
« Reply #19 on: June 02, 2009, 06:37:39 PM »
Only plane I fly now.   :aok

But would like a mentor so i can get the most out of this bird. :devil

Offline Rich46yo

• Platinum Member
« Reply #20 on: June 03, 2009, 03:45:40 PM »