Author Topic: My First Try  (Read 1419 times)

Offline 2ace

• Copper Member
My First Try
« on: December 20, 2009, 08:26:28 PM »
I've decided to try skinning, so i started out by trying to skin joe foss's F4F while he was CO of VMF-121 on Guadalcanal.

I need some help with weathering, All advice is appreciated.
« Last Edit: December 20, 2009, 10:49:20 PM by 2ace »

Offline StokesAk

• Gold Member
Re: My First Try
« Reply #1 on: December 20, 2009, 09:10:48 PM »
Look good for a first try,

im no expert on skins but if you smoothed out the edge between the blue and gray on the main fusaleage it would look better.
Strokes

Offline 2ace

• Copper Member
« Reply #2 on: December 20, 2009, 09:12:22 PM »
Thanks Stokes, after looking at it again i agree that it looks a little too sharp i think i'll add a little blur to fix that.
« Last Edit: December 20, 2009, 09:29:05 PM by 2ace »

Offline Krusty

• Radioactive Member
« Reply #3 on: December 20, 2009, 10:33:49 PM »
For many reasons, that may be one of the harder skins to start out on. It's a first-generation skin, and it has mirror issues and other bugs in how the skin is mapped onto the 3D mesh.

On the other hand, sometimes these skins can be very useful to get you into the right "mindset" -- that is, teach you how to manipulate the pixels more to get what you want.

A few tips:

- Move mouse cursor off the screen when taking screenshots

- The number on the cowling: move it back to avoid the warping on the leading edge. Tweak it. You might have to sacrifice historical accuracy to work on some of these old skins. The real plane may have the number at the very front of the cowling, but on the skin it may be better to move it backwards a tad. There was a time when the 109E had to be mirrored left and right, so I had to make the number on the side "8" instead of "11".

- The star on your port side is irregular and requires tweaking. The leading edge is pushed backwards (into the roundel) and it doesn't look right