Author Topic: Industrial wind farms  (Read 5471 times)

Offline Gixer

• Persona Non Grata
  • Gold Member
Re: Industrial wind farms
« Reply #105 on: March 22, 2010, 06:09:28 AM »
Unless you can put them at 36,000 feet windfarms are completely ridiculous and useless for many reasons.

The only options on the horizon for energy is fusion nuclear power and/or solid oxide fuel cells. Ceramic fuel cells possibly the best as they would do away with
the national power grids and networks.

<S>...-Gixer

Offline oboe

• Plutonium Member
« Reply #106 on: March 22, 2010, 08:13:54 AM »
I work as a wind turbine technician at an industrial windfarm in northen Iowa.   Our site has over 230 wind turbines installed on approximately 180 square miles of Iowa prime farmland.   I don't particularly like the sight of 260' wind turbines stretching to the horizon, but that is the American model of development.  I've also worked on them in Ireland and England and their sites tended to be in remote locations (like on mountains or highlands) with typically less than a dozen machines.   I prefer that model of development but differences in land ownership complications and expectations of corporate profits give rise to these mega projects.   It does cast an industrial aura to a rural landscape, but in all honesty northern Iowa already is industrial - industrial agriculture.   The creeks have been straightened; trees and brush removed from their banks, virtually every bit of arable land is plowed.    Hog confinement buildings are numerous and the concentrated odor from the excrement of hundreds of pigs carries on the breeze.