Author Topic: Avoid the HO or How to fly like a champ  (Read 1786 times)

Offline humble

• Platinum Member
Re: Avoid the HO or How to fly like a champ
« Reply #30 on: June 02, 2010, 05:01:00 PM »
The issue here is the assumption of control of circumstances. Most of the time this type of discussion almost seems predicated on having the upper hand. Not letting the other guy shoot at you is a bit of a no-brainer if you're in an advantageous position. I always felt my primary job (back when I was a trainer here) was to help players move beyond circumstance and reach a point where they could be competitive (within reason) regardless of plane type or initial positioning. It is not possible to entirely deny your opponent a shot window when maneuvering from a position of inferiority so the key concept is in manipulating that shot window to the degree possible to facilitate a more favorable outcome. Under those circumstances you need to give a little to hopefully gain a lot. Once you reach a certain comfort level initial positioning (or plane match up) isn't as big a factor as the relative skill level of the other guy.

"The beauty of the second amendment is that it will not be needed until they try to take it."-Pres. Thomas Jefferson

Offline Dawger

• Silver Member
« Reply #31 on: June 02, 2010, 06:51:06 PM »
In online flying games there is immediate reinforcement of bad behaviors and habits.

From the first sortie the guns are available.

In the real world a pilot goes through an extended period before he ever gets anywhere near pulling a trigger.

Starting from primary flight training the military pilot is building skills that have nothing to do with shooting but everything to do with winning the fight.

Formation flying is the basic laboratory for building an understanding of the geometry of the fight.

Every fight is an exercise in trying to join into formation on the target or prevent the enemy from joining in formation on you.