Author Topic: touching up screen shots  (Read 351 times)

Offline hyster

• Copper Member
touching up screen shots
« on: August 01, 2010, 04:24:43 AM »
i have PS cs5 and i messed about with a couple Of SS earlier.
the top pic is the original and the bottom 1 i worked on a little. all i did was auto tone, colour and contrast and ran noise ninja.
now bare in mind I'm a complete noob with PS and never really used it bar the most simple stuff.

my question is: how can i change it to look better? more artistic sort of thing.

thanks for any help.

Offline AKP

• Silver Member
Re: touching up screen shots
« Reply #1 on: August 01, 2010, 11:28:47 AM »
The best advice I can give, is just to play with the different settings and filters.  I took your original image, and made a few adjustments.  First, I adjusted the contrast.  Then, I added a slight blur to the background, as in real life, the eyes (and cameras) only focus on one thing.  So the plane in the foreground is clear, but as you move father away, the background goes out of focus.  I also added lens flares to the canopy glass, to simulate a reflection from the sun. 

Then... I desaturated the image, and adjusted the contrast again.  Added a very slight film grain to it, and used custom brushes to put stains on the picture to make it look old.

Finally, I used the variations adjustment to add just the colors I wanted back in, and got the old fashioned "sepia" tone.

I also make full use of layering in PS.  Sometimes you can apply a filter or adjustment to an image and it is just too much.  Before you make an adjustment, duplicate the layer and then do it.  Then, adjust the opacity of the filtered layer to get the effect you want.  I also did something like this with the blur...  I duplicated the layer, added a gaussian blur, then erased the parts that I didnt want as much of the blur.