Author Topic: Some AvA ideas...  (Read 1766 times)

Offline jimson

• AvA Staff Member
  • Platinum Member
      • The Axis vs Allies Arena
Re: Some AvA ideas...
« Reply #15 on: October 09, 2010, 12:32:12 AM »
I'm new to this - I can provide all the historical data you need (most of it direct from the brain cells), but I'm not up on how its all set up, the amount of work involved, etc., but I am willing to learn.

I have downloaded all of the maps, so I'll fly around in offline mode and see what I can scout out as potential scenario sites for these one-night events. If this "ain't how its done in these-here parts", let me know.

J

One big way you can help is to offer suggestions on how to improve set-ups when posted, we have several members of the community that help us in this way.

A few of our set-ups are loosely historical/generic and don't represent an actual battle but a time frame or area in general.

There are sometimes intentional omissions to improve playability.

IE we may not always include the entire US/Britain planeset that was historically active in a particular scenario in order to keep the Luftwaffe from having to simultaneously deal with the best of turn fighters and fastest bnz birds.
« Last Edit: October 09, 2010, 12:39:21 AM by jimson »

Offline JHerne

• Nickel Member
« Reply #16 on: October 09, 2010, 12:53:24 AM »
Absolutely. Understand completely.

There's gaps in the planeset as well that would limit the historical missions. Of course, any "historical" mission is bound to go totally awry once the scenario is underway. The real events were controlled chaos, expecting to recreate them with that same randomness in which combat occurs is idealistic at best. That's not to say that we can't create some great scenarios with what we have. The trouble is achieving a balance for the sake of gameplay.