Author Topic: Why don't you want to die?  (Read 3084 times)

Offline Yeager

• Plutonium Member
Re: Why don't you want to die?
« Reply #15 on: May 29, 2011, 11:45:22 PM »
See Rule #14
« Last Edit: June 03, 2011, 09:57:40 AM by Skuzzy »
"If someone flips you the bird and you don't know it, does it still count?" - SLIMpkns

Offline Penguin

• Persona Non Grata
  • Gold Member
« Reply #16 on: May 29, 2011, 11:57:35 PM »
This is the topic I've been waiting for during my entire forum career.  I am a self-taught philosopher (and have been described as such by numerous friends and family members).

Here is a short treatise that I have composed regarding death, thought and immortality:

The Immortal Mind
By Penguin

I think, therefore I am.  However, death is the cessastion of all biolgical processes, including thought.  Therefore I will cease to be when I cease to think; the cessation of thought is death.  Therefore, if I die, then I cease to be.  This raises the question, why should I wish to be?

To ask oneself why one wishes to be is equivalent to asking the meaning of life.  To ascertain the meaning of life requires thought.  The meaning of life, in and of itself, is a thought or thoughts.  If I cease to think, then I cannot ascertain the meaning of life, for it requires thought.  Furthermore, the enjoyment of life has the same prerequisite as the the meaning of life- thought.

One can derive from this logic that in order to enjoy and ascertain the meaning of life, one must think.  If death is the cessation of thought, then it is the cessation of the enjoyment and meaning of life.  Therefore, without death, life would continue to provide enjoyment and meaning.

If death ends the enjoyment and meaning of life, then life must provide enjoyment and meaning.  Therefore, I do not wish to die because if I were to then I would not be able to enjoy myself and ascertain the meaning of life.  With that established, I will now describe my conclusion in detail.