Author Topic: A-20 characteristics  (Read 7363 times)

Offline Grayclif

• Copper Member
A-20 characteristics
« on: May 10, 2013, 08:47:26 AM »
Dear HTC,

Please take a look at updating the handling characteristcs of the A-20.

Last night I was out-turned by an A-20 while flying a P-51D in a dogfight at 14k alt. We entered into a tight turn fight at this alt and within 2 complete circles, the A-20, piloted by "Cobia38", was able to turn inside my pony (even with my flaps deployed and WEP power) for the kill. Having known a pilot who flew real A-20's, being a pilot myself, and comparing the two real aircrafts qualities; this would not have been possible. Even under ideal conditions for the A-20 could not turn with such a nimble fighter. Especially in air that dense.

The A-20 pilot I know, said that the A-20 has a lot of climbing power, and turns fairly well if speeds were high, but that is about it. "It was dog in the air for the most part, handling much like an empty B-25. But if you we're going over 300 mph the Havoc would pull vertical with the best of 'em." "You put it thru the mill in dives and g-loading, it just couldn't turn worth a damn".

Either yet another hack has joined the ranks, or the A-20 needs a big big mod. Please fix. 

Thank you.

Regards,

The Grayclif

Offline The Fugitive

• Plutonium Member
      • Fugi's Aces Help
Re: A-20 characteristics
« Reply #1 on: May 10, 2013, 08:51:47 AM »
LOL!  Carry on!  :aok You don't turn WITH an A20!

Offline Karnak

• Radioactive Member
« Reply #2 on: May 10, 2013, 08:57:58 AM »
P-51D was not a nimble fighter.

Nimble fighters are things like the A6Ms, Brewster, F4Fs, I-16, Hurricanes and, perhaps, some Spitfires and Bf109s.

It sounds like you got into a pure turn radius fight and there are many bombers that will beat many fighters in a pure turn radius contest.  Turn rate will almost always favor fighters, but you need to keep speed up and not be using flaps.
« Last Edit: May 10, 2013, 09:01:33 AM by Karnak »