Author Topic: No answer, just an observation  (Read 986 times)

Offline shoresroad

• Copper Member
No answer, just an observation
« on: April 22, 2014, 06:51:47 AM »
After taking a six month break from AH I've come back to see more and more pilots simply bailing from their fighters the moment I start a fight with them.  Then I thought back to what I was taught by a number of average pilots who I talked to when I started playing AH 15 months ago "Never fly in the same sector with uber green or red pilots."  Leave, because the only way you'll get better at gunnery and handling your plane is through prolonged dogfights with players you can survive against for more than one turn.  Same for the greenies "You'll rarely get a prolonged dogfight with uber greenies around as they kill quickly and will kill the red thing you're trying to fight." 

So off and on I followed this advice and left sectors once I saw a bunch of uber greenies come in or if I was shot down by an uber red thing.  And it worked.  Whenever I had a really fun dogfight, win or lose, I would check his k/d ratio and sure enough it would be about 1.0 like me.  When I spent 15 minutes climbing out to be shot down by an uber pilot in 2 turns it was not fun.  I very rarely would even fire my guns.

Set aside the squad I ran into on the Bish that definitely had the policy of abandoning a base take at the point of any enemy contact, the above scenario is going on out there.  A good number of new players are being taught by some of the mediocre players to stay away from the uber guys, both green and red.  I heard a conversation on range radio last night on exactly this, same I as heard when I started playing: "Unless you're willing to log 100's if not 1000's of hours in this game you'll never beat the uber pilots, so avoid them."

The uber guys are trying to change the side switch time to find red things to shoot down while a good number of average and new players are trying to avoid them.