Author Topic: my first stick  (Read 1246 times)

Offline mikev

• Nickel Member
my first stick
« on: June 04, 2014, 01:59:53 PM »
 i am still new to this game and have finally got a stick . i didnt go out and buy the top of the line stick yet but want to work with the cheaper first to see what difference it will make. i got the Logitech Extreme 3D Pro Joystick on amazon for $20 new and need help in configuring and any tips that would be helpful during setup. i am sure there are a few critics on my choice but lets not beat me on the head yet ( you will get plenty of chances to do that in the game) haha . there are lots of buttons to configure and besides the x and y and shoot buttons  the twist rudder etc. this is all new to me and i have no idea which  is which ,any help would be greatly appreciated .
1 Of these days you will regret shooting me down.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_R4qb6_RPUc

Offline FLS

• AH Training Corps
  • Plutonium Member
      • Trainer's Website
Re: my first stick
« Reply #1 on: June 04, 2014, 02:14:47 PM »

http://www.hitechcreations.com/getting-started/how-to-configure-your-joystick-or-mouse

You want flaps, wep, radio, secondary weapon release, select secondary weapon within easy reach.
You don't need to program all the buttons to start. Wait until you see what you need beyond the basics.

Offline morfiend

• AH Training Corps
  • Plutonium Member
« Reply #2 on: June 04, 2014, 02:22:34 PM »
 It's pretty simple,just plug the stick in and open the game. Then use the map controls interface to program the buttons. All you need do is click the button and it will be highlighted,then select the function from the drop down.

How you setup the stick is really a personal thing and depends on what you fly!  If you tend to use bombers some things may be more important to map than say if you fly fighters all the time.  You can use the different modes to map 2 functions to a single button,but you need to map a button or key to switch modes.