Author Topic: A-10 Being Retired.  (Read 1744 times)

Offline XxDaSTaRxx

• Persona Non Grata
  • Silver Member
Re: A-10 Being Retired.
« Reply #30 on: September 05, 2014, 09:08:30 PM »
I wish people wouldn't listen to everything they find on the internet.
Get off my thread, Time-traveling thread-ruining wizard!

EDIT: And if we go by that....

1) Russia is not invading the Ukraine
2) Ebola doesn't exist
3) ISIS is a branch of the Red Cross that gives away teddy bears

Must I continue?
« Last Edit: September 05, 2014, 09:33:02 PM by XxDaSTaRxx »
Quote from: Latrobe
Do not run.
Face your opponent with all you have.
If you die you have something to learn.

Offline mbailey

• Platinum Member
« Reply #31 on: September 05, 2014, 09:20:37 PM »
First off Im not a fan of retiring it because the costs of keeping them flying is minimal.

But it is a different world and a different tactical environment compared to when the A10 first flew. 1976 is the Year I graduated HS and the year USAF first started fielding them. At the time there were no precision ground support weapons. No drones. No precision artillery. Smart shells for USN ships....ect Some of the shells seek out enemy armor on their own. We have an awful lot of ways to kill tanks now, with high precision, that we didnt have in the '70s. AND support troops on the ground.

We all know the real reason the A10 is going. Im just saying its a different reality now almost 40 years later, not that i agree with it.

Agreed but the weapons system proved itself extremely useful in 91 and (not that I can speak for the veterans on this board who have been cradled under its protection in Iraq) but if there was ever a more viable weapon system that this government needs I can't think of one.  I guess d like to hear some of our vets opinion like A rack that direction or US Ranger.....
Mbailey
80th FS "Headhunters"

Ichi Go Ichi E