Author Topic: Debating VR or a TrackIR system (older player re-joining)  (Read 1889 times)

Offline SpinDoc1

• Nickel Member
Debating VR or a TrackIR system (older player re-joining)
« on: January 13, 2018, 08:04:13 PM »
Hello all,

It's been quite some time since I have been able to play Aces High, and upon seeing the progress in VR and TrackIR, I have been VERY excited to try and get back into it! I plan to build a decent computer setup for either visual setup. I have no experience with VR or TrackIR, and am coming from a simple 24" 1080p monitor.

Looking for some answers to the following very specific questions:
- With a VR system, how do folks with poor near-vision adapt to a VR headset? Is there decent focus adjustment?
- Does the more-limited graphics resolution of VR hamper the gameplay experience (from perspective of being able to detect, track, and engage targets)
- Are there visual enhancements that AH III can use to offset the perhaps limited graphics capability of a VR headset?
- Does the choice of joystick/HOTAS, etc. matter with a VR or TrackIR system? I currently have a Microsoft Force Feedback 2, but plan to get something like the Thrustmaster T.16000 setup (HOTAS and pedals)
- I love the thought of TrackIR for the more natural/fluid look to head movements. I don't have a good comparison for VR though, is the immersion piece similar or are there stark differences?
- Silly question: when I check-6 with a VR headset, do I actually have to crane my nugget all the way around, or is it feasible (and not too disorienting) to hotkey for rear view and then move my head as expected?

Thanks in advance, appreciate insights you can offer!

Spin Doc
AKSpnDoc
Spin Doc's Aces High VR Video channel! https://youtu.be/BKk7_OOHkgI

Offline FLS

• AH Training Corps
  • Plutonium Member
      • Trainer's Website
Re: Debating VR or a TrackIR system (older player re-joining)
« Reply #1 on: January 13, 2018, 08:33:16 PM »
I have both. VR is better than TIR.