Author Topic: Prebuilt PCs  (Read 1342 times)

Offline Banshee7

• Platinum Member
Prebuilt PCs
« on: April 29, 2024, 09:16:50 AM »
What do y'all think about buying prebuilt PCs?  I'm in the market for an upgrade, and I have never built a PC before.  So the pros (for me) would be it's already assembled, AND I wouldn't have to drop the cash all at once.  I don't really have anyone close that I trust to help build a PC either, so all of my help would come from online.  Just picking your brains and seeking advice!

<S>
-=Most Wanted=-
"Masters of the Air" Scenario - JG27

||||||||

Offline Eagler

• Plutonium Member
Re: Prebuilt PCs
« Reply #1 on: April 29, 2024, 09:22:43 AM »
I have upgraded my original 286 from 1993 to the i7 I have today...never bought a built desktop

I found building them enjoyable over the years .. for the wife and both sons too

What are you upgrading from to?

Eagler

Intel Core i7-13700KF | GIGABYTE Z790 AORUS Elite AX | 64GB G.Skill DDR5 | EVGA GeForce RTX 3070 Ti FTW3 | Vive Pro | Warthog stick | TM1600 throttle | VKB Mk.V Rudder Pedals

Offline Banshee7

• Platinum Member
« Reply #2 on: April 29, 2024, 09:49:28 AM »

What are you upgrading from to?

I bought a secondhand PC with an i5-9400 and a 2070 Super back in 2020.  I don't know what I want to upgrade to.  I've been shopping around.  I just want something with decent performance and longevity.  My PC bottlenecks so bad in other games (I'm assuming because of the CPU).  I would just upgrade that, but I'd have to update the motherboard, too.  Which honestly would still be cheaper.
-=Most Wanted=-

||||||||

Offline Animl-AW

• Silver Member
      • Animl - YouTube
« Reply #3 on: April 29, 2024, 09:55:19 AM »
There is some pride, fun, and learning that goes with building your own. Ya really become one with it. Motherboard and power supply will dictate what you can do with it, leaving room to upgrade it in the future.