Author Topic: Landing frustrations...  (Read 477 times)

Offline Khavren

• Zinc Member
Landing frustrations...
« on: February 22, 2002, 03:56:04 AM »
It's only been until recently that I can successfully pull off carrier landings....granted took a lot of practicing and was rather pleased with myself when I could throttle up for a Touch & Go if I failed to catch the tailhook.

However now I find myself lacking when it comes to landing on the ground.  I dunno what has changed, and to be honest I don't understand what is happening.  I was fully capable of successfully landing at higher airspeeds (I'd kick the rudder to reduce airspeed during approach) and granted sometimes I'd bounce down the runway, I'd still land successfully.

Now however, I'll touchdown as delicately as a ballerina, and >BLAMO!!!!KAPUT!KAPUT!KAPUT!<    I'm Dead or Ditched.

Now I'm no expert...but I've been speculating...could I be approaching too slow?  I'm not seein how that could be an issue (because I've been a virtual glider in a pony successfully landing...after a lot of praying...'course with the engine shut down there's no engine torque).

Offline oboe

• Plutonium Member
Landing frustrations...
« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2002, 06:35:05 AM »
You could be pancaking - you're the best judge of whats happening.    Carrier aircraft landing speeds are generally lower than land-based a/c, so if you are coming into a land base you can safely add 10-15.   I think I try to put it down around 120 mph.

One thing you could try is determining stall speed of the a/c you're having trouble with.   Get airborne, set up landing config (flaps & gear) hit auto level and cut power.  Note the airspeed when the plane goes into a stall, and stay above that speed when bringing your a/c in for landings.