Author Topic: Mac operating systems  (Read 445 times)

Offline hblair

• Platinum Member
      • http://www.cybrtyme.com/personal/hblair/mainpage.htm
Mac operating systems
« on: August 22, 2002, 05:15:40 PM »
I got a brief education today on how rare Mac computers are. I'm building a webpage for our business and was at my ISP today talking to one of the webpage designers. I told him I was using frontpage 2000 to make the page and that I'd heard that frontpage 2000 was not Mac friendly (I'm a novice and was seeking advice). I told him I was concerned about that. He chuckled and sat me behind his monitor and showed me the stats on one of their largest customers webpages. The customer is a morning radio show called "Rick and Bubba". They are syndicated in several cities in the southeast and the site had taken a few hundred thousand hits. (I don't know what period of time we were looking at)

The percentage of the hits that were from Mac platforms was 1.8% ! I couldn't believe it. There were 3 times as many linux hits and 93% were windows based. He said he doesn't consider Macs worth worrying about. That was a surprise to me.
« Last Edit: August 22, 2002, 05:17:51 PM by hblair »

Offline Skuzzy

• Support Member
  • Administrator
      • HiTech Creations Home Page
Mac operating systems
« Reply #1 on: August 22, 2002, 05:58:53 PM »
Actually, I think the percentage of Mac guys are higher than that,....but I heard they have a hard time finding the browser in the OS.
Not sure how true that is,..but thought it might explain it. :D
Roy "Skuzzy" Neese
support@hitechcreations.com

Offline steely07

• Silver Member
Mac operating systems
« Reply #2 on: August 22, 2002, 06:21:00 PM »
"Mac,it's not a computer,it's an appliance"
Aces High, Wing Commander, Dickweed Heavy Bomber Group: www.dickweedhbg.com

FSO Films : https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCFs6CAXBQoVBctljybD65fA?view_as=subscriber

Offline CptTrips

• Plutonium Member
Mac operating systems