Author Topic: 262 usage, tips  (Read 339 times)

Offline Blank

• Nickel Member
262 usage, tips
« on: September 05, 2002, 09:30:12 PM »
Ok I am a MA 262 noob i have about 6-7 sorties in it but I dont kill much,

Any tips on how to fly it properly would be appreciated, as I suck in it.

thx :)

Offline akak

• Silver Member
      • http://www.479thraiders.com
Re: 262 usage, tips
« Reply #1 on: September 05, 2002, 09:54:33 PM »
Originally posted by Blank
Ok I am a MA 262 noob i have about 6-7 sorties in it but I dont kill much,

Any tips on how to fly it properly would be appreciated, as I suck in it.

thx :)

Don't use it to strafe ground vehicles, even though that's the only time I seem to use the Me262.  Lost 6 of them the other night trying to kill a flak panzie, oh well, they're just perks.

ack-ack

Offline gatso

• Silver Member
262 usage, tips
« Reply #2 on: September 06, 2002, 09:07:15 AM »
I flew the 262 a bit towards the end of last tour. Found it surprisingly hard to get kills in.  A few tips, sorry if some are blatantly obvious.

30mm are incredibly powerful but hard to get on a moving target.  Don't expect 5 kill sorties, think the most I've managed is 4 in a 262 ages ago, normally only get 2.

Best tactic I found was to find a target, extend so your range icon doesn't show, maneuver on his 6, come screaming in at 550mph+ low on his 6, he won't see you until too late. Works best when there's an attack coming in to one of your bases, nme's are too busy looking forward to check their 6.

It helps if you've got quiet a few perks to burn and are able to fly it consistently, you get used to how the aircraft flies - It is completely different to anything else so it takes a few flights to get used to. I lost almost all of my early 262's to compression, none since I got used to it.

Stay away from GV's unless you don't mind loosing the perks - what ack ack said