Author Topic: <S!> Saturday night CT'ers!  (Read 5684 times)

Offline TheBug

• Platinum Member
<S!> Saturday night CT'ers!
« Reply #60 on: September 11, 2002, 02:20:50 PM »
I'm still pulling for some 1943 setups both European and Pacific.  With my preference being the Pacific.  I am relatively new to AH so I may not be on top of plane matchups.  But I can't help but think a setup using the "Slot" map with 1943 planes wouldn't be well recieved by both sides.

Land based would be F4u-1, F4f, P40, A6m5, Ki61

CV based would be F4f, A6m2, maybe A6m5?? not sure

Throw in the proper bombers for spice and I think we'd have some great fights.  This would represent the time after Guadalcanal was secured and the USN/MC pushed up the Solomon chain towards Rabaul.  Just watch Black Sheep Squadron reruns for inspiration :D Only plane really out of place is the A6m5(I think?? no expert) and that would be considered a sub for the A6m3 with the added performance as a reflection of some of the IJN pilot's combat experience since China.

I don't know maybe it would just turn into a F4u-1 vs Ki61 battle and everyone would be complaining.  But it would something I would love to give a try.  

Which CT staff member is most willing to accept bribes?? aka the cheapest.
“It's a big ocean, you don't have to find the enemy if you don't want to."
  -Richard O'Kane

Offline ergRTC

• Silver Member
      • http://bio2.elmira.edu/DMS/index.pl?table=content&faculty=1&page=1
« Reply #61 on: September 11, 2002, 02:25:40 PM »
looks good to me.  It would be nice to have f4us off the carriers though.  When was the f6f model we have introduced anyway? early 44?  late 43?

so it would be
allied
f4u1
f4f
tbm
sbd
a20g (instead of the b26)
p40 on land

axis
ki61
ki67
a6m2
a6m5
val

Offline TheBug

• Platinum Member
« Reply #62 on: September 11, 2002, 02:31:56 PM »