Author Topic: Re:Control Tower Ideas for next release... What do you think?  (Read 530 times)

Offline Dinger

• Silver Member
Re:Control Tower Ideas for next release... What do you think?
« Reply #15 on: March 18, 2001, 09:54:00 PM »
surface winds were on until the PT boat came out.
There are still winds at alt (anyone else notice the nasty 12k wind shear).
Ground effect has been modelled since late beta -- if you doubt it, try landing in some other sim that doesn't have it.

Offline Thorns

• Nickel Member
      • http://members.cox.net/computerpilot/
« Reply #16 on: March 18, 2001, 10:17:00 PM »
As a SEL pilot, I would love to see wind as a factor of flight, takeoffs, and landings.
It would teach people to land into the wind, and would also teach them what happens when landing down wind.  As people over shoot the runway on the down wind landing, the focus would be to land into the wind for a more shorter roll out.  In an emergency the plan is still to get the plane on the runway, preferably with the wheels still intact. I would also like to see friendly collisions, but I sure that has been whipped about too.
Just 2 cents.

Thorns

PakRat

« Reply #17 on: March 19, 2001, 07:24:00 AM »

Originally posted by INDN:
If you read what I wrote first I said that wind can increase ground effect which lowers the speed to land, BUT if you come in at the normal speed for landing not indicated you would be to fast and take longer to stop and even get the plane on the ground. If the wind stops blowing you can fall to the ground if there is not enough room to regain the airspeed.

This is just getting silly. Increasing ground effect does not cause a plane to land shorter. That is just a contradiction and misuse of standard terminology.

An airplane only knows how fast it is flying through the air. It has an AIRSPEED indicator. (With GPS you also know actual ground speed but for this discussion that doesn't matter.)