Author Topic: Re:Control Tower Ideas for next release... What do you think?  (Read 531 times)

Offline Thunder

• Nickel Member
      • Dickweed Heavy Bomber Group
I am a real life pilot and one thing that is a little different is landing and taking of without wind.

IDEA...
Feature 1 : A Pilot within 2 sectors of a field could radio tower with .dot command (ie .wind 24) and a text message would come up. (ie Wind 15kts 225 ). This could be used for take off or landing.

Feature 2 : a wind working windsock at each field for real time wind conditions.

Feature 3 : Smudge pots for Night time landings and take offs.

Is this of any interest or not.
Comments ??

Thunder
Aces High DickweedHBG: www.dickweedhbg.com

Sandman_SBM

Re:Control Tower Ideas for next release... What do you think?
« Reply #1 on: March 17, 2001, 10:39:00 PM »
Sounds cool... but, is wind that much of a factor down on the ground?

------------------
cheers,
sand
screamin blue messiahs

PakRat

« Reply #2 on: March 17, 2001, 10:51:00 PM »
I don't think wind is a factor down low as the smoke always seems to rise straight up. But as you climb out and hit the wind shear, it is. If that wind was blowing at field level, you'd definitely need windsocks or you would prolly roll off the end of the runway if you landed downwind.

The plus is the shorter takeoff roll or landing rollout you'd have into the wind.

But I'd bet the majority wouldn't like it - at the medium and large fields (actually all), you'd have the possibility for strong crosswind landings and just another thing for newbies to learn. Unfortunately.

I'd love wind, socks, and blowing smoke.

---
PakRat
http://www.jump.net/~cs3" TARGET=_blank>63rd FS, 56th FG
"Zemke's Wolfpack"

"Juggies, dance us back in history!"

[This message has been edited by PakRat (edited 03-17-2001).]

Ice

« Reply #3 on: March 18, 2001, 07:47:00 AM »
You're insane man!!!!

I like it!

Offline INDN

• Zinc Member
« Reply #4 on: March 18, 2001, 09:28:00 AM »