Author Topic: What exactly does the pilot of a modern airliner do?  (Read 2011 times)

Offline AKDejaVu

• Platinum Member
      • http://www.dbstaines.com
What exactly does the pilot of a modern airliner do?
« Reply #30 on: December 18, 2002, 09:53:21 AM »
Just what do you do gruenherz... for a career?

Offline GRUNHERZ

• Plutonium Member
« Reply #31 on: December 18, 2002, 09:53:54 AM »
Embarrased in the other thread? As I recall the Toad's zinger  was to say the annual reports were lies when they showed UAL had higher operating expenses than its rivals...

Offline GRUNHERZ

• Plutonium Member
« Reply #32 on: December 18, 2002, 09:54:54 AM »
I'm a student... That is my "career" for the moment.

Offline Thrawn

• Platinum Member
« Reply #33 on: December 18, 2002, 09:58:28 AM »
Brillant thread guys. :D

Offline LePaul

• Platinum Member
« Reply #34 on: December 18, 2002, 09:59:27 AM »
Hmm, I'm almost commercially rated, does that count?  I took the written and passed, just didn't do the flight test and such.  Plus, even if I did, all I could really do is take folks out sight seeing.  Boring, but...it does build up the logbook.

Well Toad, I know you have 3 BMW's back home...not bad for doing nothing  :p  

As for Unions, oh boy, don't get me going.  As a UPS Teamster, I've seen ample cases where UPS just stuffs their foot into their mouth and deserves the Teamsters.  Then again, the Teamsters are so misguided and afloat with mis-information, its painfully amusing.  They've been blasting me for being a Republican for months.  I told them, hey...I'm all for collective bargaining for higher wagers and better benefits.  I just have a hard time with the Union endorsing Democrats who propose raising taxes....wouldn't an organization that wants higher wages for its members be against its members loosing them to higher taxes?  Boy, ask them that and all I get are confused looks like "he has a point, but since he's a republican, he cant be allowed to be right" kinda stuff.