Author Topic: The end of an era  (Read 825 times)

Offline lemur

• Zinc Member
The end of an era
« on: March 22, 2001, 03:13:00 PM »
More like the end of an epoch, actually.

Sad to say it, but it looks like EA is shutting down Kesmai studios. For those of you who don't know, Kesmai was the company behind the very first Massively multiplayer online sim: Air Warrior.

In fact, many of the great talents behind the current crop of MMP sims are allumni of Kesmai. And certainly a lot of players in here can trace their roots back to AW (I started playing DOS AW about 7 years ago)

While Kesmai isn't officially 'shut down' as of yet, they just laid off a whole slew of the 'old time' talent that had worked on AW for years. And I've been through enough mergers in my time to know this does mean the beginning of the end of Kesmai.

So, a moment of silence and a big <S>

~Lemur
p.s. Westy, if you say "I told you so" I'll hunt you down and vulch you until you cry  

Offline Mickey1992

• Gold Member

Offline Westy

• Gold Member
The end of an era
« Reply #2 on: March 22, 2001, 03:35:00 PM »
p.s. Westy, if you say "I told you so" I'll hunt you down and vulch you until you cry      

I wouldn't do that, honestly. That's for the small in heart to do. My speculation a year ago wasn't a wish but just calling things out as possibilites as I saw them.

To the friends I knew that may be coming over here? Welcome!!
 And to those who cannot or won't be? For with no AW-IV on the horizon who knows when ....(3mb mpg)  we''ll meet again

-Westy

[This message has been edited by Westy (edited 03-22-2001).]

Offline lemur

• Zinc Member
The end of an era
« Reply #3 on: March 22, 2001, 03:47:00 PM »
Hence the " " Westy.

I have a lot more respect for you than the ostriches over in BigWeek who refused to see the world outside of AW.

Look on the bright side, with the whole AH vs. AW religious debate rendered moot, you can hang out in BW again.

Or not  

~Lemur

Offline Vermillion