Author Topic: Elevation Bitmaps  (Read 440 times)

Offline Tatzel

• Zinc Member
Elevation Bitmaps
« on: December 31, 2002, 10:54:45 AM »
I just started playing with the Terrain Editor, so I am not too familiar with it.  Right now I am practicing making mountains.

They way I'm doing it now is to select a block of terrain, then trim the block by deselecting to get an outline of the mountain.  Then I raise the selection, trim it a little more, raise it again, etc.  So the effect is sort of a terraced mountain.

Well, that's my theory anyway.  Usually I mess up by accidently left clicking without holding down either shift or cntrl, which ends up deselecting the entire carefully trimmed selection.  Or, the editor bugs out and won't select or deselect anymore, or won't raise the selection after the first time.  It's tedious to say the least.

So, I was reading in the help file that you can export the map as a bitmap, then use a Paint program to set the elevations, but it doesn't say how this is done.  I understand the exporting and importing process, but not how Paint is used to set elevations.

Can anyone tell me how this is done, or point me to some documentation?

Thanks.

Offline pokie

• Silver Member
      • http://s7.eastlink.ca/~tscott
Elevation Bitmaps
« Reply #1 on: December 31, 2002, 11:21:22 AM »
When in a paint program  ( in Gray Scale )
Pure Black = 0, 0, 0   ( R "RED" = 0, G "GREEN" = 0, B "BLUE" = 0 )
Pure White = 255, 255, 255

Pure Black will give you the min alt which would be 0 feet Alt ( Water )
Pure White will give you the max alt ( in feet ) of what you set

All the other colors between Black and White will give you the Altitudes in between the min. and max.

So if you set max alt at 25,500 feet then
Pure Black will give you 0 ft
Pure White will give you 25,500 ft
So a Colour that has a RGB of 200,200,200 would give you a height of 20000 ft

A neat little program by AKWabbit has been very useful.