Author Topic: So you want to be a fighter pilot...  (Read 1651 times)

Offline fffreeze220

• Silver Member
So you want to be a fighter pilot...
« Reply #15 on: March 04, 2003, 12:54:12 PM »
Originally posted by Ghosth

Plus it has a really nasty slow speed snap stall.

I gotta love it when they do that under my 109 :D
Freeze

Offline Soda

• Silver Member
      • http://members.shaw.ca/soda_p/models.htm
« Reply #16 on: March 04, 2003, 01:39:55 PM »
For a total noob, the options are more limited: Spit IX, N1K2, A6M, FM2, Hurricane II, none of the German planes (due to poor low-speed characteristics), and none of the Russian planes

I think we are back on track... I agree, though I tend to leave the Hurri IID out (crazy cannons) and add the Spit V in.  I think the Spit V can be a damn fine plane, though a little slow.  The advantage of the SpitV though is a bit better turn-rate at low speed, meaning you can kill Spit IX's if they simply turn with you.  The Zero is the ultimate turner, but tends to be almost helpless if it isn't turning.  The N1K is scary and the bane of every Spit IX driver down low.

For people from other games, I try to steer them into something that requires a bit more skill, but hasn't really picked up any vices yet.  P-51, P-38, F6F, P-47... easy US .50 ballistics, no real spooky handling issues, but room to grow when you learn the tricks (flap use, high speed dives, etc).

Then, come the "special" aircraft, ones that live on the edge of disaster half the time, or require real understanding to get best use from.  190 (roll rate so important and mis-understood), 109 (instant compression), anything with 30mm or greater, or anything with an ammo load that seems to evaporate in 2 seconds (Yak).