Author Topic: To trim or not to trim, that is the question  (Read 925 times)

Offline AWLysol

• Zinc Member
To trim or not to trim, that is the question
« on: April 22, 2003, 03:18:37 PM »
Long time AW player, dropped out of AH for stick cal reasons, bored, gonna give 'er another go soon. Always had trouble with trim, I think that as much as calibration killed me as often as not. Looking for trim tips obviously. On or off etc etc. I remember always fighting against my own plane so much trying to keep guns on target that I could hardly ever get a stable platform. How do I avoid this problem? I was pretty durn decent in AW FR before I started playing in the kiddie pond out of boredom and I'd like to be able to enjoy AH as much as I did AW.

Call me names if ya wanna, just provide valuable tips, ok? >8^)

For all my friends an' enemas who might read this:
BAAAAAAAAAAAA!!!!

Offline Drano

• Platinum Member
« Reply #1 on: April 22, 2003, 03:31:10 PM »
I usually stick with combat trim (automatic). If anything I'd have that and at least elevator trim mapped. Elevator trim can help get your plane out of compression. Many times I've lawn darted it (especially in the 109 here) and finally saw the light. If you start to compress and you're getting close to terra firma might be a good idea to dial in a little up trim--and quickly! hehe

Another thing trim is useful for is when you're damaged--some part of your plane is missing. That way you can sometimes compensate and get yourself flying somewhere closer to straight and level with your stick somewhere closer to center.

I like to manual trim when on landing approach too. Autotrim seems to want to keep me in a nose high state when I get slow. Too high for my liking anyway. So I dial in some nose low trim.

Welcome to AH former AW bro.

Drano
"Drano"
80th FS "Headhunters"

S.A.P.P.- Secret Association Of P-38 Pilots (Lightning In A Bottle)

FSO flying with the 412th Friday Night Volunteer Group

Offline Flossy