Author Topic: Evasives?  (Read 178 times)

Ender

Evasives?
« on: November 16, 1999, 08:05:00 PM »
Greetings!  

I'm still fairly new to AH (less then 4 hrs accumulated flight time, flying ponies & N1Ks  (plus the odd B-17 sortie, in order to get familiar with AH gunnery). I'm slowly developing a grasp of what can or cannot be done with the AH FMs.

Now, it is most certainly just my lack of experience with AH, but so far I haven't seen any effective evasives done nor have I been able to evade myself in a low alt chase situation. I've tried scissors, jinking, and rolls/barrel rolls but to no avail. I'd end up either bleeding too much E or not enough Gs to throw off the aim of my pursuiers.

So, my question is, what kinds of evasives seem to work best for you?

-kier-

Evasives?
« Reply #1 on: November 16, 1999, 09:32:00 PM »
Speed is the best evasive!  

Seriously, if you bury yourself deep and low in enemy territory, you're in trouble. You can use the evasives you describe, and they work to a point, but someone(s) will nail you from behind eventually.

1 vs. 1 I use scissors, pitch-ups, and spiral dives. Riding the edge of blackout will keep them from getting a solution for a while. In the end you have to choose the fight carefully.

Tonight I was Bishop, and we were flying to 8 to find (I kid you not) at least 20 enemies circling the field at alt! Wimp and I were Nikki's and there was no escape. You should have seen them all dive down for two planes! No amount of evasives could save us from that. Add to that a bad connest night (pour gobs of ammo into stuff, nothing dies. Someone passes you 3.0 away and 90 degrees off angle and you lose a wing... ). We just kept going back, and those lazy rooks just hovered the base. This played over and over, dive in, hit a few, no results, 5-10 reds stream after you. Speed is the only evasive!