Author Topic: Video Issues  (Read 133 times)

wulf_pilot

Video Issues
« on: October 29, 2000, 01:29:00 PM »
I am actually running below the requirements
P200
64Mb. Ram
Voodoo3 3000
The games actually doesnt run half that bad except when im facing an airfield and then the framerates take a kick in the nuts.  
I was wondering about the video setup box.  IM fairly new to video card lingo so i have a few questions
I noticed that i get slightly better framerates in 1024x768 mode.
also what is a z-buffer and should i have it on
also what is triple buffering and should i disable it.
I also noticed that when i run my game in the higher rez's it locks up after a minute or two.  Any help will be appreciated.   thanks

Offline Spatula

• Silver Member
Video Issues
« Reply #1 on: October 29, 2000, 02:44:00 PM »
Looks like your hardware is a bit 'over the hill'. Maybe time to upgrade.
In the very least id upgrade the video card to something like a TNT-2 Ultra and try overclocking your CPU. THat should help, but is a short term fix at best.
Fail that, make sure no other programs are running while AH is running - this includes all the little icons in system tray. Use 16 bit color, turn ground clutter off (cntr-c) and try playing with the distance objects settings (shift-f1 - shift-f3) i think...
And stay away from smokey airfields.

Airborne Kitchen Utensil Assault Group

Offline aztec

• Silver Member
Video Issues
« Reply #2 on: October 29, 2000, 02:45:00 PM »
I had a severe locking up problem and quite by accident found out that I had the game running in 32bit but my vid color was set to 16 bit. Setting the game video to 16 bit completely cured my locking up problem.

wulf_pilot

Video Issues
« Reply #3 on: October 29, 2000, 04:02:00 PM »
Yes thats all fine but what is Z-buffer and should i have it selected
also what is triple buffering and should i check that off

Offline Sharky

• Zinc Member
      • http://www.31stfightergroup.com
Video Issues