Aces High Bulletin Board

General Forums => The O' Club => Topic started by: weazely on July 28, 2008, 09:56:49 PM

Title: Amazing GOLF STORY!
Post by: weazely on July 28, 2008, 09:56:49 PM
Yesterday I was out golfing with my dad, brother, and one of my friends...I was teeing off on the 7th hole (par 3) and on my tee shot I hit a bird in mid air and it killed it....

I should actualy thank the little bird because he gave his life for a good cause.....If he wouldnt of gotten hit my golf ball would of been in bad position :D. :P

this is the bird.....you can ask BearKats....aka husky01 if you dont believe me.....

(http://i184.photobucket.com/albums/x247/RaBBiDxSquiRRel/0727081822.jpg)
Title: Re: Amazing GOLF STORY!
Post by: DYNAMITE on July 28, 2008, 10:04:14 PM
i'm not up to date on the latest PGA tour rules... but does that qualify as a birdy?

buh dum bum!  :lol
Title: Re: Amazing GOLF STORY!
Post by: weazely on July 28, 2008, 10:04:46 PM
wow lol :lol
Title: Re: Amazing GOLF STORY!
Post by: iWalrus on July 29, 2008, 12:57:51 AM
I don't believe you, weazely.

Bearkats aka husky01, this is me even asking you.
Title: Re: Amazing GOLF STORY!
Post by: rpm on July 29, 2008, 01:06:59 AM
We need to consult the PETA board for a ruling. :devil
Title: Re: Amazing GOLF STORY!
Post by: Mickey1992 on July 29, 2008, 07:52:52 AM
Interesting.  From pga.com....

(response from a guy who's ball hit a bird and was deflected into a water hazard)

A bird is what the Rules term an outside agency. Rule 19-1 (Ball in Motion Deflected or Stopped; By Outside Agency) says in part: If a player's ball is accidentally deflected or stopped by any outside agency, it is a rub of the green, there is no penalty and the ball must be played as it lies.

Although there is no penalty for striking the bird, you are required to proceed with the original ball. In your case, if the ball is not playable in the water hazard, you would incur a penalty stroke under the water hazard Rule.

This happened to Tom Kite in the 2001 Bank of America Championship. Trailing eventual winner Larry Nelson by one stroke in the final round, Tom's tee shot, at the par 3 17th, hit a bird in flight and his ball dropped short of the green into a water hazard. This "rub of the green" cost Tom a double bogey 5 and a third place finish.
Title: Re: Amazing GOLF STORY!
Post by: Ripsnort on July 29, 2008, 09:08:06 AM
Interesting.  From pga.com....

(response from a guy who's ball hit a bird and was deflected into a water hazard)

A bird is what the Rules term an outside agency. Rule 19-1 (Ball in Motion Deflected or Stopped; By Outside Agency) says in part: If a player's ball is accidentally deflected or stopped by any outside agency, it is a rub of the green, there is no penalty and the ball must be played as it lies.

Although there is no penalty for striking the bird, you are required to proceed with the original ball. In your case, if the ball is not playable in the water hazard, you would incur a penalty stroke under the water hazard Rule.

This happened to Tom Kite in the 2001 Bank of America Championship. Trailing eventual winner Larry Nelson by one stroke in the final round, Tom's tee shot, at the par 3 17th, hit a bird in flight and his ball dropped short of the green into a water hazard. This "rub of the green" cost Tom a double bogey 5 and a third place finish.

Interesting stuff, did you research this or just know it from previous rulings? Thanks for sharing it.

On that note, what the hell is a "rub on the green".... :eek: :devil :eek:
Title: Re: Amazing GOLF STORY!
Post by: ImADot on July 29, 2008, 09:54:20 AM
On that note, what the hell is a "rub on the green".... :eek: :devil :eek:

Rub of the Green
A "rub of the green" occurs when a ball in motion is accidentally deflected or stopped by any outside agency (see Rule 19-1).
Title: Re: Amazing GOLF STORY!
Post by: Ripsnort on July 29, 2008, 10:45:31 AM
Rub of the Green
A "rub of the green" occurs when a ball in motion is accidentally deflected or stopped by any outside agency (see Rule 19-1).

Would an unmarked hazard, such as an electrical box in the fairway, or say a 150 yard marker pole, be the equivelent of the description (outside agency) ?
Title: Re: Amazing GOLF STORY!
Post by: Mickey1992 on July 29, 2008, 12:13:16 PM
Interesting stuff, did you research this or just know it from previous rulings?

Have you seen the part of Caddyshack where the gopher steals Rodney Dangerfield's ball and he yells, "That kangaroo stole my ball!".  I had that discussion last year during a round involving many beers.  If you hit wildlife while your ball is in motion from your shot, play it where it lies.  However if after the ball stops some critter (other than a worm or insect) comes along and moves it, replace it and play it from where it came to rest.  Or if a gopher steals it, replace without penalty.   :D

To answer your 2nd question....if you hit an electrical box or yardage marker post, play it from where it lies.  If the object obstructs your swing, you can take relief from the artificial obstruction.

Note that little bushes that act as yardage markers are natural objects and are not obstructions.  You do not get relief if they are in your way.
Title: Re: Amazing GOLF STORY!
Post by: OSU on July 29, 2008, 12:29:48 PM
We need to consult the PETA board for a ruling. :devil
PETA-People Eat Tasty Animals.  :rofl
Title: Re: Amazing GOLF STORY!
Post by: Rich46yo on July 29, 2008, 12:40:36 PM
I'd like to train a bird, like a hawk or an eagle, to catch my golf ball in midair, fly it to the green, and then drop it in the little hole.

I bet I could win millions $$ on the Pro tour with such a bird.

Its not a bad idea when you think about it.
Title: Re: Amazing GOLF STORY!
Post by: Mickey1992 on July 29, 2008, 01:00:45 PM
I bet I could win millions $$ on the Pro tour with such a bird.

Unless it was dropped in the wrong hole.
Title: Re: Amazing GOLF STORY!
Post by: Ripsnort on July 29, 2008, 01:14:48 PM
Have you seen the part of Caddyshack where the gopher steals Rodney Dangerfield's ball and he yells, "That kangaroo stole my ball!".  I had that discussion last year during a round involving many beers.  If you hit wildlife while your ball is in motion from your shot, play it where it lies.  However if after the ball stops some critter (other than a worm or insect) comes along and moves it, replace it and play it from where it came to rest.  Or if a gopher steals it, replace without penalty.   :D

To answer your 2nd question....if you hit an electrical box or yardage marker post, play it from where it lies.  If the object obstructs your swing, you can take relief from the artificial obstruction.

Note that little bushes that act as yardage markers are natural objects and are not obstructions.  You do not get relief if they are in your way.

If the object obstructs your swing, you can take relief from the artificial obstruction.


This part I knew. I need to brush up on my golf rules now that I'm playing more. :D
Title: Re: Amazing GOLF STORY!
Post by: RedTop on July 29, 2008, 06:41:58 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Moe4TzMi_N4

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0uXZ3_A2nGs&feature=related
Title: Re: Amazing GOLF STORY!
Post by: Husky01 on July 29, 2008, 06:42:34 PM
I don't believe you, weazely.

Bearkats aka husky01, this is me even asking you.

It is actually true.
Title: Re: Amazing GOLF STORY!
Post by: weazely on July 29, 2008, 07:27:34 PM
 :)

Title: Re: Amazing GOLF STORY!
Post by: Stang on July 31, 2008, 07:11:03 PM
LOL Weazel...

Got one of my own today involving different kinds of birds.   ;)

Playing a team match we were 2 down at the turn to two guys with a lot of stokes  :furious despite the fact I was under par, though I did miss 3 putts inside of 5 feet on 3 consectutive holes on 8,9, and 10.  Make those we're still up, but whatever heh...  after 3 putting 10 to make us 3 down I went birdie, birdie, birdie, par, birdie, birdie, birdie and eagle to win the match one up.  The eagle on the last was a 40 foot bomb I had to make to win the match and canned it on top of their tap in birdie... chased it to the hole and screamed with a fist pump as it fell in ( a lot of $$ on the line hehe).  Came home in 29 to shoot 64 with 3 bogeys, lol...  it's all coming back.

 :rock
Title: Re: Amazing GOLF STORY!
Post by: gwano on August 01, 2008, 08:27:55 PM
We need to consult the PETA board for a ruling. :devil

PETA=people eating tasty animals