Author Topic: Amazing GOLF STORY!  (Read 448 times)

Offline weazely

  • Silver Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1943
Amazing GOLF STORY!
« on: July 28, 2008, 09:56:49 PM »
Yesterday I was out golfing with my dad, brother, and one of my friends...I was teeing off on the 7th hole (par 3) and on my tee shot I hit a bird in mid air and it killed it....

I should actualy thank the little bird because he gave his life for a good cause.....If he wouldnt of gotten hit my golf ball would of been in bad position :D. :P

this is the bird.....you can ask BearKats....aka husky01 if you dont believe me.....

2004 Subaru Impreza WRX.
Invidia V2 Catless Downpipe
STi Catback
HKS SQV BOV

Offline DYNAMITE

  • Parolee
  • Silver Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1350
      • http://www.texasaircav.com/
Re: Amazing GOLF STORY!
« Reply #1 on: July 28, 2008, 10:04:14 PM »
i'm not up to date on the latest PGA tour rules... but does that qualify as a birdy?

buh dum bum!  :lol

Offline weazely

  • Silver Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1943
Re: Amazing GOLF STORY!
« Reply #2 on: July 28, 2008, 10:04:46 PM »
wow lol :lol
2004 Subaru Impreza WRX.
Invidia V2 Catless Downpipe
STi Catback
HKS SQV BOV

Offline iWalrus

  • Copper Member
  • **
  • Posts: 114
Re: Amazing GOLF STORY!
« Reply #3 on: July 29, 2008, 12:57:51 AM »
I don't believe you, weazely.

Bearkats aka husky01, this is me even asking you.
That's all.

WalrusG

Offline rpm

  • Plutonium Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 15661
Re: Amazing GOLF STORY!
« Reply #4 on: July 29, 2008, 01:06:59 AM »
We need to consult the PETA board for a ruling. :devil
My mind is a raging torrent, flooded with rivulets of thought cascading into a waterfall of creative alternatives.
Stay thirsty my friends.

Offline Mickey1992

  • Gold Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3362
Re: Amazing GOLF STORY!
« Reply #5 on: July 29, 2008, 07:52:52 AM »
Interesting.  From pga.com....

(response from a guy who's ball hit a bird and was deflected into a water hazard)

A bird is what the Rules term an outside agency. Rule 19-1 (Ball in Motion Deflected or Stopped; By Outside Agency) says in part: If a player's ball is accidentally deflected or stopped by any outside agency, it is a rub of the green, there is no penalty and the ball must be played as it lies.

Although there is no penalty for striking the bird, you are required to proceed with the original ball. In your case, if the ball is not playable in the water hazard, you would incur a penalty stroke under the water hazard Rule.

This happened to Tom Kite in the 2001 Bank of America Championship. Trailing eventual winner Larry Nelson by one stroke in the final round, Tom's tee shot, at the par 3 17th, hit a bird in flight and his ball dropped short of the green into a water hazard. This "rub of the green" cost Tom a double bogey 5 and a third place finish.

Offline Ripsnort

  • Radioactive Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 27260
Re: Amazing GOLF STORY!
« Reply #6 on: July 29, 2008, 09:08:06 AM »
Interesting.  From pga.com....

(response from a guy who's ball hit a bird and was deflected into a water hazard)

A bird is what the Rules term an outside agency. Rule 19-1 (Ball in Motion Deflected or Stopped; By Outside Agency) says in part: If a player's ball is accidentally deflected or stopped by any outside agency, it is a rub of the green, there is no penalty and the ball must be played as it lies.

Although there is no penalty for striking the bird, you are required to proceed with the original ball. In your case, if the ball is not playable in the water hazard, you would incur a penalty stroke under the water hazard Rule.

This happened to Tom Kite in the 2001 Bank of America Championship. Trailing eventual winner Larry Nelson by one stroke in the final round, Tom's tee shot, at the par 3 17th, hit a bird in flight and his ball dropped short of the green into a water hazard. This "rub of the green" cost Tom a double bogey 5 and a third place finish.

Interesting stuff, did you research this or just know it from previous rulings? Thanks for sharing it.

On that note, what the hell is a "rub on the green".... :eek: :devil :eek:

Offline ImADot

  • Platinum Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 6215
Re: Amazing GOLF STORY!
« Reply #7 on: July 29, 2008, 09:54:20 AM »
On that note, what the hell is a "rub on the green".... :eek: :devil :eek:

Rub of the Green
A "rub of the green" occurs when a ball in motion is accidentally deflected or stopped by any outside agency (see Rule 19-1).
My Current Rig:
GigaByte GA-X99-UD4 Mobo w/ 16Gb RAM
Intel i7 5820k, Win7 64-bit
NVidia GTX 970 4Gb ACX 2.0
Track IR, CH Fighterstick, CH Pro Throttle, CH Pro Pedals

Offline Ripsnort

  • Radioactive Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 27260
Re: Amazing GOLF STORY!
« Reply #8 on: July 29, 2008, 10:45:31 AM »
Rub of the Green
A "rub of the green" occurs when a ball in motion is accidentally deflected or stopped by any outside agency (see Rule 19-1).

Would an unmarked hazard, such as an electrical box in the fairway, or say a 150 yard marker pole, be the equivelent of the description (outside agency) ?

Offline Mickey1992

  • Gold Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3362
Re: Amazing GOLF STORY!
« Reply #9 on: July 29, 2008, 12:13:16 PM »
Interesting stuff, did you research this or just know it from previous rulings?

Have you seen the part of Caddyshack where the gopher steals Rodney Dangerfield's ball and he yells, "That kangaroo stole my ball!".  I had that discussion last year during a round involving many beers.  If you hit wildlife while your ball is in motion from your shot, play it where it lies.  However if after the ball stops some critter (other than a worm or insect) comes along and moves it, replace it and play it from where it came to rest.  Or if a gopher steals it, replace without penalty.   :D

To answer your 2nd question....if you hit an electrical box or yardage marker post, play it from where it lies.  If the object obstructs your swing, you can take relief from the artificial obstruction.

Note that little bushes that act as yardage markers are natural objects and are not obstructions.  You do not get relief if they are in your way.

Offline OSU

  • Copper Member
  • **
  • Posts: 205
Re: Amazing GOLF STORY!
« Reply #10 on: July 29, 2008, 12:29:48 PM »
We need to consult the PETA board for a ruling. :devil
PETA-People Eat Tasty Animals.  :rofl
If I can't win, I die. But if I win, I live. And I can't win if I don't fight.
--Mikasa Ackerman

Offline Rich46yo

  • Platinum Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 7358
Re: Amazing GOLF STORY!
« Reply #11 on: July 29, 2008, 12:40:36 PM »
I'd like to train a bird, like a hawk or an eagle, to catch my golf ball in midair, fly it to the green, and then drop it in the little hole.

I bet I could win millions $$ on the Pro tour with such a bird.

Its not a bad idea when you think about it.
"flying the aircraft of the Red Star"

Offline Mickey1992

  • Gold Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3362
Re: Amazing GOLF STORY!
« Reply #12 on: July 29, 2008, 01:00:45 PM »
I bet I could win millions $$ on the Pro tour with such a bird.

Unless it was dropped in the wrong hole.

Offline Ripsnort

  • Radioactive Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 27260
Re: Amazing GOLF STORY!
« Reply #13 on: July 29, 2008, 01:14:48 PM »
Have you seen the part of Caddyshack where the gopher steals Rodney Dangerfield's ball and he yells, "That kangaroo stole my ball!".  I had that discussion last year during a round involving many beers.  If you hit wildlife while your ball is in motion from your shot, play it where it lies.  However if after the ball stops some critter (other than a worm or insect) comes along and moves it, replace it and play it from where it came to rest.  Or if a gopher steals it, replace without penalty.   :D

To answer your 2nd question....if you hit an electrical box or yardage marker post, play it from where it lies.  If the object obstructs your swing, you can take relief from the artificial obstruction.

Note that little bushes that act as yardage markers are natural objects and are not obstructions.  You do not get relief if they are in your way.

If the object obstructs your swing, you can take relief from the artificial obstruction.


This part I knew. I need to brush up on my golf rules now that I'm playing more. :D

Offline RedTop

  • Platinum Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 5921
Original Member and Former C.O. 71 sqd. RAF Eagles