Author Topic: Multiple victory missions  (Read 3042 times)

eye

Multiple victory missions
« on: April 14, 2000, 01:05:00 AM »
I am haveing problems getting 3 or 4 kill missions. If anyone could post their tactics on how to get them it would be greatly apreciated. I fly spit mk 9 and 109's mostly.
Ammo's not usualy a problem but fuel is. Thanks

Offline Kieren

• Zinc Member
« Reply #1 on: April 14, 2000, 07:31:00 AM »
If ammo is not the problem, then you should carry drop tanks. If you are confident enough to get at least 1-2 kills a mission, then you obviously just need the time at station to get kills. Set your main tanks for half to 3/4's, then climb using DT's.

Offline Badger

• Copper Member
      • Military Surplus Collectors Forums
« Reply #2 on: April 14, 2000, 08:18:00 AM »
Hi eye.....

I see we live not far from each other.....

Multiple kills......hmmmmm.....

Well, although I'm just an mediocre virtual pilot, I usually get at least 1 kill for every 2 runs as an average, with some nights better than others.  I have had particularly great luck with triple kill runs using a P51.  I think I've had 4 four of them in last few weeks.

I follow two simple rules when flying:

1.  "Speed is Life, Altitude is Might"

...I mutter that over and over again to myself as I fly around arena

2.  I always fight an enemy on "My Terms, My Time and My Ground".

... phrase originally attributed (not verified historically) to Napoleon, but often mentioned and restated by Adolf Galland and Erich Hartmann.

...too bad Napoleon broke his own rule about "ground" when he permitted Wellington's Adjutant to pick "Waterloo" as the place of battle in 1815.  

I have found these have always worked for me and provide a foundation for maintaining good SA as well as the ability to disengage if I get in real deep ca ca.  

Hope this helps...

Regards,
Badger

eye

« Reply #3 on: April 15, 2000, 12:41:00 AM »