Author Topic: Spatial Awareness  (Read 1039 times)

Offline CrazyCat

• Zinc Member
Spatial Awareness
« on: December 20, 2006, 01:52:40 AM »
Hi, I looked briefly and didn't see any topics on this but perhaps I didn't look hard enough. Im somewhat new to the game and am still trying to master all the ACM's.

The biggest problem I seem to have isn't in the execution but rather where the "bad guy" is at. I've watched many ahf videos of other players perfoming barrel defense, scissors, etc. What I can't figure out, especially in the barrel defense, is how the pilot knows where the other a/c is at. Ive tried viewing the video from cockpit view and looking out the back and top and sides, wherever, and can't seem to get a good view on the other planes. It almost appears as though the pilot just knows and manages to roll and spin just at the magical right times and shoot just perfectly before the other a/c appears in front of them.

I have a joystick w/ hat and always try to keep looking around but seem to lose track of the other a/c quickly. Is there some special technique or secret to this which is relatively unknown or do I just need more practice?

Thanks for any help that is offered.

Offline WMLute

• Platinum Member
Spatial Awareness
« Reply #1 on: December 20, 2006, 01:58:24 AM »
make sure you have the UP view mapped to your J/S.

mostly though, it's just practice.  I have had fight's go for many min.'s withouth ever looking "forward".  just takes practice.
"Never tell people how to do things. Tell them what to do and they will surprise you with their ingenuity."
— George Patton

Absurdum est ut alios regat, qui seipsum regere nescit

Offline zorstorer

• Silver Member
Spatial Awareness
« Reply #2 on: December 20, 2006, 02:51:06 AM »