Author Topic: How To Drive on Ice (or How I made RPM Laugh His Patootie Off)  (Read 609 times)

Offline rpm

• Plutonium Member
How To Drive on Ice (or How I made RPM Laugh His Patootie Off)
« on: January 14, 2007, 08:37:44 PM »
With a new wave of winter storm heading our way, we decided to close our store early and let everyone go home before the worst of it hit. As I'm driving home I start to run into light freezing rain. The temp is already below freezing and has been for several hours so the stuff freezes as soon as it hits the road.

I've had lots of experience driving under these conditions, so I slow down and try to maintain a constant speed with as little throttle as possible. The road is almost vacant, but I did pass a couple vehicles sitting crossways in the ditch. As I pass thru the last little town before I'm home, a brand new Chevy pickup falls in behind me.

Obviously, I have no clue as to how important the driver of the Chevy is. They are much more important than me and do not need to be detained by someone with lesser intelligence and driving ability not to mention older, less expensive vehicle.

They flash their high beams trying to get me to pull over on the shoulder and let them by. It does'nt work. They decide that the way to make me move is to pull right up on my bumper and ride the high beams because I'm obviously too fracking stupid to see that they are important and I am in their way. It still does'nt work.

I decide to speed up a tad (from 40 to 45) and put some cushion between me and the mighty Chevy. They stay glued 10 feet from my bumper. I start to feel my traction disappear, but rather than get off the gas and hit the brake, I lean out the throttle just a tad and let the RPM's catch up with the wheels keeping the truck moving straight and steady.