Author Topic: Understanding, and maybe embracing? the Squeaker  (Read 499 times)

Offline toonces3

• Nickel Member
Understanding, and maybe embracing? the Squeaker
« on: June 25, 2007, 11:16:16 AM »
Hey all,
Since I'm a newbie myself, I can't really be throwing darts at the new guy squeakers.  But I've been giving this some thought, and maybe they don't deserve all the grief they get online.  Here's why I say this:

First, I don't understand why a squeaker would play AH2 at all.  I mean, think about it.  How many different distractions does the average squeaker have to amuse him/herself?  The typical squeaker is on his Wii or PS3 playing Madden or Medal of Honor, right?  Then, the ones that have a PC are online playing Quake or Battlefield 1942 or whatever, right?  Then there's that small, small segment that for whatever reason are online playing an arguably difficult online flight sim- one that I'd argue takes at least some measure of maturity to play.  This in and of itself- their choice to play AH2 of all the online games out there- gives me pause to consider their motivation.

Second, while many of them are squeaky and their voices make you want to hit the squelch button, some of them can really fly well.  The other night, a certain squeaker upped a bomber mission and took out some fighter hangers, landed and took up a Jabo and took out some town stuff, landed and took up a C-47 that captured the field for the Bish.  He did this with opposition over the enemy field.  Heck, I can't even find the fighter hangers on the base, let alone hit them with a bomber with someone shooting at me!

Third, they're diverse.  GV's?  What are those?  I figured they were just these little red dots I see every once in a while when I'm doing 300 mph on the deck.  Boats?  AH2 has boats?  These squeakers, though, they can up any number of vehicles, planes, boats, whatever suits the current battle.