Author Topic: Combat trim  (Read 546 times)

Offline A8TOOL

• Silver Member
      • http://fdrs.org/banking_history.html
Combat trim
« on: October 31, 2007, 11:09:15 AM »
I have a question about combat trim. Should it be left on or off, does it depend on the plane and are there any advantages in the way of stick or plane performance?

Thanks

Offline Lusche

• Radioactive Member
      • Last.FM Profile
Combat trim
« Reply #1 on: October 31, 2007, 11:18:53 AM »
For a start read this
Steam: DrKalv
E:D Snailman

Offline A8TOOL

• Silver Member
      • http://fdrs.org/banking_history.html
Combat trim
« Reply #2 on: October 31, 2007, 11:32:58 AM »
I just found this and it answers part of the question I guess.  Now off to read  what Lusche posted. Lots there as far as i can tell.....this is gonna take time.

Written by patches1

just to Support REN

CT will constanly adjust trim for the SPEED at which you are CURRENTLY flying and thus will gladly make adjustments without asking you. For instance...if you go into a dive with CT on...it may continually adjust for a bit of nose up trim that you may not wish to have happen when you are diving from altitude to drop bombs upon a target.

CT generally adjusts to about 80% of trim required for the SPEED at which you are CURRENTLY flying, or diving, or climbing.

Try this; go to the Training Arena, climb to 15K in any plane of your choice,
and go into a steep dive over a field, picking out a single target. Manually trim your aircraft for the target you have selected...and a second or two, or three later, hit Combat Trim and see what happens. Try pulling out of the dive and then, hit Combat Trim again (which will turn it OFF). What happens?

Combat Trim can be a friend, or a foe.

First learn to trim manually....
Then learn what Combat Trim does...
Then combine the two...

Just my 2 cents.

Offline Ack-Ack

• Radioactive Member
      • FlameWarriors
Combat trim
« Reply #3 on: October 31, 2007, 03:40:17 PM »