Author Topic: adapt your style to the plane, or the plane to your style?  (Read 1095 times)

Offline toonces3

• Nickel Member
adapt your style to the plane, or the plane to your style?
« on: April 10, 2008, 02:22:32 PM »
Hi all.
This is something I've been thinking about alot lately.  I've been playing about a year now.  I've tried most of the planes in the lineup, although I've definately flown some more than others.  Still, I think I've given most of the lineup a fair try.

Now that I've been playing a while, and beat most of the total NooBiness out of myself, I think I've developed some of my own style of playing the game.  I have my own way of approaching fights and conducting a dogfight. 

Additionally, I've come to feel that certain planes just inherently seem to 'fit' my way of playing better than others.  What I mean is this:  I can up most almost any fighter in the game and land some kills.  But, there are some planes that I find much more success with than others.

For example:  I have really, really tried to like the jug.  My squad, the 348th FG was a P-47 squad in WW2 and so for history sake I've tried to fly and be proficient in the plane.  But, I simply cannot adapt myself well to the style the plane demands.  I have an idea of how the fly the plane, and I have great squad mates who are proficient in the plane and can coach me through a successful sortie, but I don't 'enjoy' the flight, and I don't feel comfortable in the plane.

However, a plane I find an absolute joy to fly is the Ki-84.  I put this plane on and I feel like I can...just fly...without having to manage my style so much like I do in the jug.  I spend less time thinking about what I'm doing and I'm flying more instinctively.