Author Topic: What makes the P-51D so great at shooting down people  (Read 5131 times)

Offline warmax12

• Zinc Member
What makes the P-51D so great at shooting down people
« on: July 22, 2008, 02:00:30 PM »
im realy curious because when ever i use it i cant kill anything with it and when i see other people use it its a monster i mean it doesnt even have any cannon rounds any advice?
____▄██████▅▅▅▅▅▅▅▅▅▅
█T█E█H█T█A█N█K►
◥☼▲⊙▲⊙▲⊙▲⊙▲☼◤

Offline infowars

• Nickel Member
Re: What makes the P-51D so great at shooting down people
« Reply #1 on: July 22, 2008, 02:14:32 PM »
Well I'm fairly new to this game so i wouldn't take my opinion too seriously.  What I think and is the reason why I still use it is because of usage in general. 

I have stayed in that plane pretty the whole time mainly because of nostalgic reasons and I have learned to make it work.  I am seeing my kill rate increase everyday I use it.  I am even starting to land kills. 

So basically I think if you fly any plane long enough you'll eventually learn to make it work.
SWneo <==== In game name. Cpt 125th Spartan Warriors.

Offline Obie303

• Silver Member
« Reply #2 on: July 22, 2008, 02:18:48 PM »
Keep it fast.  It's great for BnZ attacks.  I have the convergence set at 300 yds.
I have fought a good fight,
I have finished my course,
I have kept the faith.
(quote on a Polish pilot's grave marker in Nottinghamshire, England)

71 (Eagle) Squadron

Offline Steve

• Platinum Member
« Reply #3 on: July 22, 2008, 02:19:56 PM »
Well, the 6 .50 is really a pretty nice gun package as far as ballistics go.  Lethality wise it's average but plenty adequate. What's your convergence set at? Are you hitting at all or just not getting kill shots? Have you spent time in other planes?  

The 51 is not a great plane to start in for a couple of reasons.