Author Topic: X45 - may it rest in pieces  (Read 423 times)

Offline Alpo

• Aces High CM Staff
  • Silver Member
X45 - may it rest in pieces
« on: April 10, 2012, 11:29:48 AM »
The other night I was flying along in a 262 about to intercept a couple of hapless goons, I reach to back off the throttle as I speed in and SNAP!  :joystick:  The X45 throttle assembly I have been using for years comes off in my hand.  Considering the amount of gorilla glue, splints, and screws I had installed trying to salvage it several years ago, I wasn't all that surprised... but did it have to be while I was in a 262?  :furious

Since my X45 throttle was also my rudder, I'm actually looking at two new purchases.  Even though I've never used anything like them before, I'm leaning toward the CH USB rudder pedals over Saitek.  I have a CH Combatstick and have had zero issues, can't say the same for some Saitek equipment I've owned. 

My question for the board... what throttle would you go with considering I spend the majority of my time in P38s and/or bombers?  I see my obvious choices as being the CH Pro Throttle or the CH Throttle Quadrant.  I tend do a lot of throttle manipulation while fighting which seems to lend itself to a throttle I can rest my hand on (ie. Pro Throttle).  However, I'm torn by the thought of being able to control my engines independently as well (ie. Quadrant). 

Thoughts please?  :pray
SkyKnights Fighter Group -CO-
R.I.P.  SKDenny 02/03/1940 - 02/19/2012

Offline mthrockmor

• Gold Member
Re: X45 - may it rest in pieces
« Reply #1 on: April 10, 2012, 11:40:58 AM »
My only thought is that have a separate throttle functionally requires Trak IR. A squadie sent me his old stand alone throttle. To make use of that, which includes HOTAS, I would have to find another way to change views. I know many use their hat-switch, I still use the keyboard to change views. Very impractible to move hand between keypad and throttle.

Just my two cents.

Boo