Author Topic: My suggestion to fix AH  (Read 1534 times)

Offline Killjoy2

• Nickel Member
      • http://www.nortonfamily.net
My suggestion to fix AH
« on: April 26, 2004, 05:48:05 PM »
The problem:

The "old" Aces High had a community of players who love WWII planes and everything about them.  The "new" Aces High seems to lack this component.  Generally speaking, the new player is a product of the X-box rather than the history book.  I know I studied WWII planes and battles like a fiend just to fit in when I started in WBs.  We sometimes met up at air shows too.  It's still the glue that holds the Flying Zoo together.  (there are also rivets, screws and gray tape holding us together)  

The suggestion:

Do more to promote the historical aspect of the planes, matchups and battles for the new players.  (The old players will eat it up too)  I know we have Special Events, but for some reason they are not well attended.  I think the reason is lack of appreciation for the historical aspect of the game.

1) I love OzKansas for the historical islands. I wish we had links to tell us about the history of the battles fought on the individual islands.

2) Maybe spotlight a historical matchup between 2 islands in OzKansas?  Be sure to educate about the relative strenth and weakness of the planes.  The opportunites to grow Special Events can be created in the Main.  Kind of a "Special Event Light" TM.

3) Create a spec sheet for the map pull down with fighting hints and links for a couple of spotlighted planes.  Say a Zero and an Wildcat.  "Collect the whole set!"

4) Create a Historical battle center like tank town but you can't destroy the base.  It wouldn't count in a reset.  We have furball island, why not historical furball island?  Or Scenario Furball island?