Author Topic: sim ace history  (Read 1826 times)

Offline Stegahorse

• Copper Member
sim ace history
« Reply #30 on: June 11, 2005, 09:40:41 PM »
I started AW1 in the beginner arena. Just as I finished my 10,000 points, AW2 came out. I think it was '97, but age obscures exact date.

I enetered the AW2 arena a complete newby and recieved an invite about 90 minutes into that first session. The Squadron name was and names like Viper,Tctoc, TKO greeted me. They were a great bunch and had me up to speed in about 2 months. As time pregressed, people left the squad, new people came in. I eventually had the honor to lead for a time. The only dissapointment from was that I was the one left to turn out the lights and lock the doors.

I applied to AWTC and was accepted. THe next great adventure began and I had the pleasure to serve the AW community as a trainer and as a Trainer/night manager. Many a pilot got the lecture about patience and practice. They also got to hone their shooting skills as they shot me down, alot! I think back to that time when one could "SEE" the light bulbs suddenly get brighter as the ideas imparted suddenly make sense to the students!
That is what I miss the most from AW.

Any roads, I was invited to Fly with the Damned. There I met TC, Ren,Snowman,Doc,Wind,Fool,Drano,Jordi, and about 100 others.
Then EA became involved with AW and that is another story. The choices were Warbirds and a new game, Aces High. We decided AH was about as close as we could get to the AW experience.
The Damned went through many squad designations until HTC allowed a change that let us use Damned Air Group as out name.

Most of those I met when I first joined the Damned are still around. They're not fliing much, but they keep in touch. Many have gone onto other things in life but, by inlarge, they remember AW with reverence.