Author Topic: "Gaming" the Game?  (Read 2842 times)

Offline thrila

• Gold Member
      • The Few Squadron
"Gaming" the Game?
« Reply #15 on: January 21, 2008, 08:11:33 AM »
another is to turn down your plane's engine to hear approaching planes.
"Willy's gone and made another,
Something like it's elder brother-
Wing tips rounded, spinner's bigger.
Unbraced tailplane ends it's figure.
One-O-nine F is it's name-
F is for futile, not for fame."

Offline Shuffler

• Radioactive Member
"Gaming" the Game?
« Reply #16 on: January 21, 2008, 08:13:57 AM »
Originally posted by A8balls
The Air Ministry's specifications for the Lancs included the ability to dive bomb up to 30 degrees. This specification carried over from the 2 engine to the 4 engine design. This alone is why the bomb bay doors are so large. Being a RL pilot myself, I guarantee that any aircraft can dive at 90 degrees and most pilots are trained to recover from this attitude.

Detail slider & flopping. I see your point.

Milk runs are a very big part of real history. Bomber pilots "scoring" without getting into a fight is exactly the point.

Anyone else?

Yes..... did they also bail out just past their bomb drop?
80th FS "Headhunters"

S.A.P.P.- Secret Association Of P-38 Pilots (Lightning In A Bottle)

Offline thndregg

• Platinum Member
"Gaming" the Game?
« Reply #17 on: January 21, 2008, 08:34:14 AM »
Originally posted by The Fugitive
So, to a "purest" anything that wouldn't, or couldn't be done in real life, shouldn't be done in the game. "Buff guys" climb to high alts and make there bombing runs while trying to avoid radar, and would be happy with a few 51 as cover. "Fighter guys" look for fights, air combat. The rest of the players are "gamers" they just play the game, history  to them is what their score was last month.