Author Topic: Ok, so here is the one issue with Aces High  (Read 3795 times)

Offline Locoweed

• Zinc Member
Re: Ok, so here is the one issue with Aces High
« Reply #30 on: March 15, 2008, 01:46:17 AM »
So lazy people take the time to check out Soda's descriptions of each aircraft and what it's strengths is and study aircraft maneuvers from manuals or are all newbies lazy? Sigh.

Offline angelsandair

• Gold Member
      • RT Website
« Reply #31 on: March 15, 2008, 01:48:11 AM »
As a game programmer I like to check out and play other games every now and again. Aces High is an excellent MMO game that I could easily get additted to if I had the time. The realism is awesome and it seems like the Aces High team is adding more content to the game all the time to make the game better.

Here is the one rub I have with the game playing it, and it is a very important aspect I don't think the Aces High team has planned into the game. I have played and help write some MMO games and never have I seen a MMO game with more distain for new members then this one. Even though I enjoyed the overall gameplay from the beginning, as a new member I found myself with nothing to do but practice some and then when I felt like joining in the fun all I ever got was grief.

I would practice flying planes, then join in only to be rediculed. I would play 5" gunner on a CV and shoot down many attacking planes, never once to be congratulated by anyone. Actually, it almost felt like people were pissed that there was a newbie on the CV gun. Whether or not that is true, that is how it felt to me as a new member.

The hatred for newbies in this game is unbelievable and it has more to do with the game design itself then anything else. The game designers need to add game content for new members where they can be respected and not be dished on from the day they join game. It is really rediculous in a way.

Other than that, the gameplay is awesome.