Author Topic: Wirblewind  (Read 8601 times)

Offline waystin2

• Plutonium Member
Re: Wirblewind
« Reply #45 on: March 20, 2008, 12:33:49 PM »
Nah, it still has the open top turret and can still only fire in one direction at a time. Distract the gunner with one target and pop his turret from a different direction.

As Elfie said, no more difficult to kill than the Ostwind.  It just has a tremendous rate of fire, so if you get into it's arc(1.0k) you will be toasted by even the worst/novice gunners out there.  As a self-professed Ostie expert I will say it is easier to track targets, not quite the range, but a meat grinder nonetheless.  Vulching will no longer occur in AH, without removing the VH first.  No perk needed, but folks better adjust their tactics a bit!
CO for the Pigs On The Wing
& The nicest guy in Aces High!

Offline Krusty

• Radioactive Member
« Reply #46 on: March 20, 2008, 01:15:05 PM »
It's definitely perkworthy...

I checked earlier today, and it's got (in 1 day) 2000 kills to about 950 deaths. Now, of those, about 550+ were from GVs, so vs aircraft it's got better than a 4:1 kill ratio.

It's an instant ping killer. I was nowhere near one, took one ping, and my engine and oil were instantly dead. Too bad I was low and slow, so I make a gentle turn (my mistake here, I turned INTO the wirblewind!) and 2 seconds after losing my engine my tail was gone and some other parts and I was floating down to the ground in a fuselage with a pilot trapped inside.

Offline BnZ

• Persona Non Grata
  • Silver Member
« Reply #47 on: March 20, 2008, 01:24:54 PM »
I think its only racking up a few kills right now because it is popular and perhaps a little easier to use than the Osti. Like I say, I'm not sure it is actually better than the Osti.

Offline 2fly

• Copper Member
« Reply #48 on: March 20, 2008, 01:39:40 PM »