Author Topic: Marksmanship Trouble  (Read 984 times)

Offline shotgunneeley

• Silver Member
Marksmanship Trouble
« on: June 07, 2008, 12:27:04 AM »
Ok, I am new at this game and I know that the old cleche "practice makes perfect" is the #1 tip, but I just can't seem to get steady on targets. I have a ST290pro twisty stick that seems to be a little stiff and touchy when it comes to making fine adjustments, so an upgrade in hardware is probably called for.

I spend most of my time flying with my squad mates in B-17's, so gunning at a target whos coming straight down my 6 with little manuevering is almost no problem killing. However, when a more experienced fighter comes zooming in from 9oclock high trying to gut me out then drawing a fine bead and leading the target becomes more crucial.

Dogfighting is another story. I spend a lot of time with offline practice missions and usually dont have a problem with out fighting the AI, but keeping a steady platform in which to shoot down the enemy (usually from a P-51D) is still a problem. I keep having the trouble with keeping the target from disappearing under the crosshairs into the blindspot that the fuselage creates. So in essence, I'm shooting blindly at the target where I think it will come across my line of fire. I have my convergence set on 600, 500 and 400 from outer guns to inward, so I might need to tighten up my grouping more.

My question is it the lack of a more smoother joystick system or is it some calibration that I have neglected to settle within the game thats keeping me from being steady? I also feel that I need to add that I've tried to zoom in on my crosshairs, but that just makes me feel tunnel visioned. And I've tried to zoom out, but that makes it harder to see where I'm aiming. P.S. Im looking into getting a STX52 with throttle and rudder pedals, so with a few more buttons I'll be able to trim myself in flight. Thanks for any help.
« Last Edit: June 07, 2008, 12:33:33 AM by shotgunneeley »