Author Topic: Time to upgrade need advise  (Read 1815 times)

Offline Stogie

• Nickel Member
Time to upgrade need advise
« on: August 20, 2008, 10:33:57 PM »
My current computer was used to help design the pyramids so I figured I should upgrade.  I average 20 FPS in the MA so wanted to improve on that.

I am a tech and have built many computers but not for a very long time and have not really kept up with the technology so I could use some help.

I plan on keeping a few parts from my existing system: IDE drives, dvd, mouse etc.

This system is 1.8 Ghz, 1GB RAM and has a Radeon 1650 512 AGP video.

I'm looking at this for a replacement: http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=4102233&CatId=332

This video card only has 1 review that I found but looks like it would be at least as good as what I have:
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/searchtools/item-Details.asp?EdpNo=3529983&sku=V261-2642&srkey=v261-2642

The motherboard dosn't have many expansion slots which is fine cause all I would be adding is my sound card so I don't use the onboard sound.

I'm just looking for some advise on this or maybe a better sugestion, money is tight but I don't want to get too cheap and miss a feature I may need or want later.
80th FS "Headhunters"Nose Art

S.A.P.P.-Secret Association Of P-38 Pilots

Offline Fulmar

• Gold Member
      • Aces High Movie Database
Re: Time to upgrade need advise
« Reply #1 on: August 20, 2008, 11:02:03 PM »
What's your budget?  And what do you use your computer for?  Like 99% AH or do you do some other stuff (or would like to)?