Author Topic: Bombing with fighters  (Read 958 times)

Offline Raptor05121

• Nickel Member
Bombing with fighters
« on: October 10, 2008, 11:08:45 PM »
I'm a newb at this but I love flying those town busting missions with the 110's or P-47's. However, the only time I hit anything is when I have the rockets. I can never seem to drop the bombs on the hangars without the bombsight like the Lancs and Fortresses. Every time I'd come back around I'd either be too long or too short. What are some good pointers for boming ground targets with a Jug or such?
InGame: xRaptorx of the ***Alchemists***

Quote from: dirtdart
To suggest things that do not meet this basic criteria is equal to masturbation.  It may feel good to you, will not produce any tangible results, and you may be embarrassed if you get caught. 

Offline Rolex

• AH Training Corps
  • Gold Member
Re: Bombing with fighters
« Reply #1 on: October 10, 2008, 11:49:53 PM »
I'd suggest that you log into the Training Arena and go to Field A1 (Bishop).  There are targets just off the airfield you can use for practice. When you select bombs, you'll see a green + in your cockpit. The flatter your angle, the lower the + will appear in the cockpit. That is a bombsight indicator available in the Training Arena for practice. You'll understand the relationship between your speed/angle and aim after using it a few times/

Remember that bombs require 1,000 feet of total travel to arm correctly, or they will not explode.

It is usually easier to hit your target by dropping in at a steep angle... 60-80 degrees. Be sure you're not applying rudder input. Use roll to orient yourself correctly. Don't worry. you'll get better after some practice. Good luck!

Offline BnZ

• Persona Non Grata
  • Silver Member
« Reply #2 on: October 11, 2008, 12:39:50 AM »