Author Topic: Should I retire my mouse? Opinions needed please!  (Read 1710 times)

Offline Kazaa

• Plutonium Member
      • http://www.thefewsquadron.co.uk
Should I retire my mouse? Opinions needed please!
« on: October 29, 2008, 02:46:23 AM »
I’ve been playing AH2 for over three years now and  I’ve always used a mouse, keyboard and just recently CH Pro Pedals to play. Now being an FPS gamer I’ve always felt comfortable using a mouse, not to mention that the views when using the number pad feel so natural to me since I‘ve been using them for so long.

I would say I’ve done rather well in AH2 to a certain degree. For example, after almost a year out from AH2 I’ve put in some game time this tour,  scoring a K/D ratio of around 8.0, a K/S ratio of around 3.0 and a hit ratio of  8%, which is normally around 13%. The only real problem I have is getting my controls stole when stall fighting, which happens to me rather a lot. My snap shot is rather poor also.

Now a lot of people can’t believe that I use mouse and keyboard to play AH2 and I don’t know why. (I’m starting to crack under the peer pressure) Is it because of immersion or does using a HOTAS give you super powers ? Lets face it, no matter what input you use there is no difference in how your plane can perform. (I’d like Skuzzy’s view here if that’s ok, just to be sure.)

I’m bringing my dilemma to the forums because I hate change, I mean it took me over 3 years to go from A,S,D keys to pedals for rudder input. I already have a Saitek X-52 which I’ve used for a couple of sorties, it’s sitting in the cupboard right now. I  felt awkward moving the stick around while using hat switches for views, I would end up spinning to the ground most of the time and throw my toys out of the pram then setup my good old mouse and keyboard again.

What I’m after is opinions from people who have moved form mouse to HOTAS or stick and keybaord, can you please tell me what the difference is. I kind of feel that I'm missing out.