Author Topic: Fighter tactics questions from a newb  (Read 909 times)

Offline Roadblck

• Zinc Member
Fighter tactics questions from a newb
« on: September 02, 2010, 07:14:31 AM »
I've seen what great replies Muzzy's been getting in his threads, so I decided to start one to get some advice/help from the community.

I'm pretty new to AH.  I flew a bit back in 2002, but was never a great fighter pilot.  Most of what I used to know and/or be able to do seems to be gone, so I'm trying to start over and build my ACM skills.

Last night I was cruising around at about 18K in a 190D, and I spot a high P47 (turned out to be an P47M).  He shows 3.0K as he passes above me, so I assume this means 3000 yards (or meters?), so he must be up in the mid 20s.  He sort of shadows me around a bit, but doesn't come down for a while.  I make a couple of boom and zoom passes on folks lower, and notice that the 47 is finally making a run at me.  He's diving on my 6, about 1.0k out.

What do I do?  I have been mostly flying spitfires lately, and I felt like I could handle the situation pretty well there, since I can turn hard enough to try to defeat his guns solution, but in the 190 (which I am unfamiliar with), I wasn't sure that I could  turn tight enough to really give him much trouble, and if I can, will I bleed too much energy such that it puts me in bad shape for his subsequent passes.

As it happened, I avoided his first pass (broke into him, and slightly low, then tried to extend away from him, and keep my speed up) , but as he came around, the second time and I tried a similar maneuver, he pinged me up pretty well (pilot wounded, and some control surface damage). 

I'm sure I could have handled it better.  Sadly, I was not filming, but given my inexperience in the game, and in the 190, I'm not sure the film would show much more than some poor flying on my part.