Author Topic: Road to Rangoon Aircraft Discussion (A6M2 vs Hurricane mk I)  (Read 3368 times)

Offline WldWeasl

• Zinc Member
      • NoseArt
Re: Road to Rangoon Aircraft Discussion (A6M2 vs Hurricane mk I)
« Reply #15 on: March 31, 2011, 04:45:44 PM »
All fair points of discussion.  Like I said, I'm a scenario noob and I'm sure there was discussion about substitutes, I wasn't so much concerned about variants, as I was about making sure (as accurately as possible) that deviations we're similar...(if JAAF had cannons in Rangoon and the AVG et. al. did not, then it should be as close to the same as possible for this scenario)

Offline skribetm

• Nickel Member
« Reply #16 on: March 31, 2011, 04:46:58 PM »
the only solution to this argument is to have an accurate plane set.
until then, scenarios should be designed around available aircraft.

AHII is at it's best when immersion sets in. but scenarios aren't the bread n butter.
so HTC panders to the MA crowd more, because thats what pays the bills.

i haven't even signed up for this event..  :frown: :frown: :uhoh

Offline Brooke

• Aces High CM Staff
  • Plutonium Member
      • http://www.electraforge.com/brooke/
« Reply #17 on: March 31, 2011, 07:31:59 PM »
Scenarios are an attempt to give people a taste of the historical fighting as best we can manage, using what is available and making consessions to playability (since, of course, without that, we'd have no players).  Thus, no scenario is perfectly realistic.  But if you get done with a fight, and think to yourself, "Man!  That was like this mission I read about!" -- and if you had fun -- then the scenario is a success.

To skip a scenario because it has plane substitution strikes me as missing the forest for the trees.